The Inventor Education Forum

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help moving forward

2 posters

Go down

Help moving forward Empty Help moving forward

Post  cphyt7 Thu 29 Mar 2012 - 20:26

Greetings all,

This is my first post! My name is Chaz, and I am a college student and aspiring entrepreneur.

I have recently developed an invention! I have patent pending status (provisional patent filed), a prototype, a trademark intent to use filed (for the brand name), CAD/SolidWorks renders, drawings, and manufacturing files as well (all from the engineer who was hired to help me make this dream a reality).

I have a few questions. I have been continually working on a business plan, but I am sort of stuck. Basically, this invention is going to be used in households by end consumers. I do not want to build a factory and manufacturer it myself, nor do I really want to have someone else manufacture it and be involved in distributing. I believe the option I would like is licensing.

How do I get in touch with companies who might be interested in this idea? There are 80 manufacturers in the United States in the industry. Do I literally just call them up (their 1-800 number) and ask to speak to someone about my invention? I will take all necessary legal precautions, so I am not looking for advice to keep my idea protected. I am more interested in getting the companies interested in the idea.

I do believe my idea is revolutionary, and it will change the game for this industry. I think once companies see the idea, they will go crazy over it. But how do I get to them first? How do I land meetings? What information do I need? They know all about the industry (since they are in it), so I don't really know how to present my idea other than "hey this is a good idea."